Current is certainly a team effort, and a large part of that team is the Board of Directors. Without their support and insight, Current would not have been able to grow and flourish as it has.


Dr.Glen Lowry
Associate Professor, Faculty of Culture + Community

Glen Lowry has a PhD in Literary Studies and has published widely on contemporary Canadian Literature and Culture — literature, photography, film, and television. His recent work investigates new forms of cultural expression and social contexts, particularly around questions of globalization and urbanization. Lowry’s work focuses on new media platforms that link scholars, artists, and audiences across cultural and geographical distances: e.g, Maraya project, connecting urban waterfronts in Vancouver and Dubai. From 2002–11, Lowry edited the cultural journal West Coast Line. Pacific Avenue (2009), his collection of poems, looks at image-based memory and geography. Lowry regularly shares ideas, images, lectures, and commentary on his blog:

Celeste Martin
Associate Professor, Faculty of Design + Dynamic Media

Celeste Martin has a background in communication design and specializes in typography. She has a BFA and MFA from the University of Iowa. Her creative work examines the forms of written language, the shapes of letters and their relationship to space. She is the editor of Current, the university’s design research journal, and a member of Emily Carr’s Research Ethics Board. As a researcher at Emily Carr’s Social and Interactive Media Centre her current design research focuses on the development of enhanced interactive ebooks.

Deborah Shackleton
Dean of the Faculty of Design & Dynamic Media

Deborah Shackleton earned a BAA from Ryerson University and an MA from Royal Roads University. As an Associate Professor she teaches design research and methods at the undergraduate and graduate levels. Deborah’s research interests include practice-based research and learning theory for human-centred designing which she brings to projects for Emily Carr’s Health Design Lab. She is one of the founding editors of the award-winning Current, the university’s design research journal, and is the Founding Chair of the ECU Research Ethics Board. In 2010, she was awarded the Ian Wallace Teaching Award.


Jonathan Aitken
Associate Professor, Faculty of Design + Dynamic Media

Jonathan Aitken is the Director of the Health Design Lab and Communication Design faculty at Emily Carr University of Art and Design. The Health Design Lab is a research centre that applies design thinking to Health Care, bringing human-centred design research methodologies to complex problems. Aitken’s education in Communication and Industrial Design help him bring an interdisciplinary focus to his work. Currently teaching in the graduate and undergraduate programs, Aitken is particularly interested in how participatory design methodologies can facilitate design research into large, complex problems.

Dr.Ron Burnett
President + Vice-Chancellor of Emily Carr University of Art + Design

Dr. Ron Burnett, C.M. RCA has been the President of Emily Carr University for 18 years. In 2013. Dr. Burnett received the Order of Canada. In 2010 he received the “Chevalier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres” a knighthood from the French Government. In 2012, he received the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal and in 2002 the Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal. Dr. Burnett is on the BCNet Board, the Board of the European League, the Board of AICAD and the Board of the Learning Development Institute and was the Chair of the Knowledge Network. In 2005, he published How Images Think, MIT Press. Former Director of the Graduate Program in Communications at McGill University, Designer at the New Media Innovation Centre, author of 150 articles and book chapters, Educator of the Year in Canada and recipient of the Outstanding Leadership Award from the International Digital Media Arts Association.

Grant GregsonGrant Gregson
Coordinator Teaching & Learning Centre, Academic Administration

Grant Gregson is the Coordinator of Emily Carr University’s Teaching and Learning Centre administering Emily Carr’s elearning on Moodle, Blog and Wiki platforms. Grant’s research and teaching support faculty and staff with incorporating new technologies for use in elearning, the classroom, research projects and web publishing; scholarly and pedagogical practices. Grant created ECUPS, a student media team providing filming, publishing and web-casting of events at Emily Carr. Grant serves on the Curriculum Planning + Review Committee (CPR), on the Pedagogy, eLearning and Technology Committee (PET), on the ETUG Steering Committee (SCETUG) and on the British Columbia Teaching & Learning Council (BC-TLC).

Bonne ZabolotneyBonne Zabolotney
Dean of Graduate Studies

Bonne Zabolotney is the Dean of Graduate Studies at Emily Carr. She began her career as a communication designer in Vancouver in 1993. Her most notable work can be found in the philatelic section of Canada’s National Archives, including her 1999 stamp design recognizing the formation of the Nunavut territory, along with five other stamp designs. She has worked with some of the largest arts groups in Vancouver including Vancouver Opera, Vancouver Recital Society, and Vancouver International Jazz Festival. Areas of learning and teaching include typography, design and material culture, consumerism, and the visual vernacular.

Credits to Industrial Design Alumnus, Jeremy Calhoun, for taking the photos.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *